STATEMENT: David Madland on the President’s Executive Action to Increase the Wages of Government Contractors

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — David Madland, Managing Director of Economic Policy at the Center for American Progress, issued the following reaction to the news today that President Barack Obama signed an executive order to raise the wages for employees who work for federal contractors:

The president took a big step toward making the economy stronger today. The president’s action will raise incomes and boost demand, which are sorely needed to get the economy back on track. Congress should move to raise the incomes of all Americans, which will increase buying power for families.

The president can also take additional actions with regard to federal contractors that would complement today’s action. Far too often, companies with long track records of violating existing laws to ensure workers are paid fairly and have safe workplaces continue to receive contracts. The president can take action that would ensure that only responsible contractors that comply with workplace laws—including his new executive order—receive new federal contracts.

To speak with an expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org.

Related resources from CAP Action:

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : STATEMENT: David Madland on the President’s Executive Action to Increase the Wages of Government Contractors

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.