STATEMENT: Katie Hamm on the House Vote to Extend Home Visiting Programs

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Today, Katie Hamm, Director of Early Childhood Policy at the Center for American Progress, released the following reaction to the U.S. House of Representatives voting to extend the voluntary home-visiting program:

Today’s bipartisan House vote will ensure that vulnerable families continue to receive family support and parent coaching programs in their communities. These programs are critical to ensuring that new parents who decide to participate in the program have information on child development and access to needed social services. This vote is also a huge win for taxpayers because home-visiting programs have been rigorously evaluated and shown to save money in the long run through reduced health care costs, less need for remedial education, and increased self-sufficiency. I am hopeful that on Monday, the Senate will act quickly to pass the House bill and extend this important program.

To speak with an expert contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org.

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : STATEMENT: Katie Hamm on the House Vote to Extend Home Visiting Programs

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.