STATEMENT: Melissa Boteach on the Effects of Rep. Ryan’s Budget on Poverty in America

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Today, Melissa Boteach, Vice President of the Poverty and Prosperity Program at the Center for American Progress, issued the following reaction to the release of the House Republican budget:

In a transparent political move, Rep. Ryan put his long-awaited safety net reform proposal on hold in an attempt to isolate these recommendations from his radical budget, which is already a blueprint for exacerbating poverty and inequality. While the House Republican’s budget plan claims to strengthen the safety net, the reality is it slashes health care, education, child care, and other job supports for struggling families in order to pay for tax cuts for the very wealthy.

If Rep. Ryan was as committed to cutting poverty as he claims to be, his budget would include investments in job creation, education and training, and work supports that help families achieve economic security. Any future reforms Rep. Ryan proposes to the safety net must be understood in the context of this budget proposal, which guts the very resources helping families make ends meet and transition to the middle class. The House budget’s treatment of the poor speaks volumes more than any past or future rhetoric or proposals can about the low priority that those who vote for it place on creating greater economic opportunity.

Related Resources:

For more information or to speak with an expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : STATEMENT: Melissa Boteach on the Effects of Rep. Ryan’s Budget on Poverty in America

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.