STATEMENT: Neera Tanden on the New York State Assembly and Senate Approving Funding for Pre-Kindergarten in New York City

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, Center for American Progress President Neera Tanden released the following statement in reaction to the New York State Assembly and Senate budget agreement to include $1.5 billion in dedicated funding for universal, high-quality pre-kindergarten and afterschool programs for New York City:

By establishing universal, high-quality preschool in the nation’s largest school district, New York is taking a strong step to get children ready to learn, address the needs of parents, and reduce inequality over the long term. Mayor Bill de Blasio​ has shown tremendous leadership in championing preschool expansion and deserves credit for making his proposal a reality. Gov. Andrew Cuomo (D-NY) and leaders from both sides of the aisle also deserve credit for their efforts to ensure that all children in New York City have access to the early learning opportunities that we know they need to grow up and compete in tomorrow’s workforce. This is a smart investment that will not only benefit families today, but will also pay for itself by strengthening our economy in the future.

To speak with a CAP expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : STATEMENT: Neera Tanden on the New York State Assembly and Senate Approving Funding for Pre-Kindergarten in New York City

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.