STATEMENT: Neera Tanden on the President’s Executive Order to Expand Overtime Pay

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Center for American Progress President Neera Tanden issued the following statement in reaction to the announcement that President Barack Obama will issue an executive order to expand the number of people who qualify for overtime pay under federal labor law:

With his executive action to extend overtime protections, President Obama is not only ensuring fair compensation for workers, but he is also taking an important step to help the economy and taxpayers. Ensuring workers get the pay they deserve will put more money in the pockets of hardworking Americans which will boost consumer demand and strengthen our economy. Taxpayers will also benefit because federal spending on safety net programs, such as food stamps, will likely decrease. Reforming outdated overtime rules shows strong leadership from the president to ensure that hard work leads to economic security and an opportunity to get ahead.

To speak with an expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

See also: The Effects of Minimum Wages on SNAP Enrollments and Expenditures by Rachel West and Michael Reich

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : STATEMENT: Neera Tanden on the President’s Executive Order to Expand Overtime Pay

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.