Stork Appointed to FFIEC State Liaison Committee

FFIEC's picture

The Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC) today announced the appointment of Judi Stork to the Council's State Liaison Committee. Stork’s SLC nomination was confirmed by the Council for a two-year term starting May 1, 2017, and continuing through April 30, 2019.

Stork serves as the Deputy Bank Commissioner with the Kansas Office of the State Bank Commissioner. Stork started her career with the agency in 1979 as a field examiner. She was promoted to her current position in 1991. As Deputy Bank Commissioner she is charged with the oversight and supervision of 210 state banks and nine trust companies with combined assets of approximately $99 billion. She also oversees the agency’s money transmitter section, which licenses and supervises 106 money services businesses. She directs a bank regulatory staff of 58 employees. Stork has served as Acting Bank Commissioner on six separate occasions.

Stork is a member of the Board of Directors of the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS), a Trustee of the CSBS Education Foundation, and past chair of the Education Foundation. She is also a member of the CSBS Community Banking Group and Chair of the State Supervisory Processes Committee. Additionally, she serves on the Supervisory Processes Committee with FDIC, Federal Reserve Bank, and state representatives.

Additional members that currently make up the five-member SLC also include:

SLC Chairman Greg Gonzales, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions, appointed by the CSBS; Edward Joseph Face, Commissioner of Financial Institutions for the Virginia State Corporation Commission's Bureau of Financial Institutions, confirmed by the Council; Mary Hughes, Financial Institutions Bureau Chief of the Idaho Department of Finance, appointed by the National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS); Caroline Jones, Commissioner of the Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending, appointed by the American Council of State Savings Supervisors (ACSSS); and

The FFIEC was created by the Federal Financial Institutions Regulatory and Interest Rate Control Act of 1978 to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms for the federal examination of financial institutions, and to make recommendations to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions. It also conducts schools for examiners employed by the five federal member agencies represented on the FFIEC and makes those schools available to employees of state agencies that supervise financial institutions.

The FFIEC currently consists of the following six voting members: a member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; the Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation; the Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau; the Comptroller of the Currency; the Chairman of the National Credit Union Administration; and the Chairman of the SLC.

The SLC consists of five representatives of state banking and credit union agencies that supervise financial institutions. Members are designated by the CSBS, ACSSS, NASCUS, and the FFIEC. An SLC member may have his or her two-year term extended by the appointing organization for an additional, two-year term.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

3 + 17 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.