Triple medal treat on opening day of Para Track Worlds

Cycling Australia's picture

27 Mar 2015 Cycling Australia

Team Australia collected three medals on the opening day of the 2015 Para-cycling Track World Championships in Apeldoorn on Thursday.

Australia found the podium three times through Alistair Donohue (VIC) who won silver in the C5 1km time trial, plus Sue Powell (ACT) and Simone Kennedy (NSW) who claimed bronze in the C4 and C3 events.

2014 world championships bronze medallist Victoria’s Alistair Donohue claimed silver in the C5 1km time trial.

Donohue recorded the fastest final lap of the competition, finishing in a time of 1min 05.691secs. Spain’s Alfonso Llamas took gold (1:04.806).

I am pretty relieved actually, you are always nervous heading into competition and it is quite nice to get one medal under the belt, it takes a lot of pressure off,” said Donohue, the.

“I surprised myself actually with the time, I don’t remember much of the race but I am happy to improve on last year’s result.”

Donohue will now switch focus to the longer distance, the 4km individual pursuit, which will be held on Saturday.

Donohue, the reigning individual pursuit national champion, is expected to battle room-mate and reigning world champion Michael Gallagher (VIC) for the title.

“The mind games have started already, we are rooming together so are having some fun there. I already have a medal, so the pressure is on Mick to get one now,” joked Donohue.

Canberra’s Sue Powell equalled her performance of one year ago with bronze in the C4 event.

Powell stopped the clock in 40.366secs, with China’s Jianping Ruan (37.909) a strong winner ahead of New Zealand’s Katherine Horan (39.279).

“It was a good ride today, I was aiming for a personal best, didn’t quite get hat today, but I am still very happy with the time,” said Powell, who now turns her attention to defending her individual pursuit world title on Saturday.

“Everything has gone really smoothly here since arriving, it has been a really good start to the championships.

“The build up, including the time in Adelaide has been fantastic, I couldn’t have asked for a better lead up, no excuses at this end, just have to go out and do a good job on the weekend.

Sydney’s Alexandra Green (43.146) finished in sixth position.

2012 time trial world champion Simone Kennedy (NSW) equalled her 2014 performance with bronze in the C3 event.

Kennedy clocked 44.734secs, with less than one second separating medallists Jamie Whitmore (CAN) and Denis Schindler (GER).

“To even make the team this year was great, but to now find the podium it is even better,” who spent most of 2014 away from track cycling after suffering from altitude sickness after contesting the 2014 World Championships.

“I did my best with the time, and the result is the result, I am happy.”

Kennedy is the lone Australian in action on day two in the individual pursuit.

In the men’s Tandem 1km time trial, Canberra’s Paul Kennedy and pilot Nichloas Yallouris (1:04.274) finished sixth, while reigning Tandem pursuit world champions Matt Formston and pilot Mick Curran (NSW/1:05.349) were ninth.

In the women’s Tandem, Canberra’s Brandie O’Connor and South Australian pilot Breanna Hargrave (1:12.196) were fifth.

About the Championships

The 2015 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships will be held in Apeldoorn, Netherlands, from 26 – 29 March 2015.

The Championships features 153 athletes from 30 different countries over four days of competition which provides valuable qualification points for the 2016 Rio Paralympic Games.

Championship Schedule

  • Thursday 26 March – From 7pm Australian AEDT

    500m and 1km time trials - men’s and women’s C1-C5 and Tandem

  • Friday 27 March – From 7pm Australian AEDT

    3km pursuit - men & women C1-C3

  • Saturday 28 March – From 730pm Australian AEDT

    3km/4km individual pursuit - men & women C4, C5 and Tandem

  • Sunday 29 March – From 630pm Australian AEDT

    Sprint – men & women Tandem; Team sprint - mixed C1-5; Scratch race - men & women C1-C5

Full schedule


Team Australia

Team Australia finished as the most successful country at the 2014 Championships held in Mexico with a haul of 17 medals including five rainbow jerseys. 

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

14 + 1 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.