Twelve athletes named to U.S. team for Pan American Track Championships

USA Cycling's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Jacob Duehring will compete in the men's omnium and the Madison in Mexico.


Colorado Springs, Colo. (Aug. 1, 2014) -- Twelve athletes have been named to the team that will represent the United States at the Pan American Continental Track Cycling Championships in Aguascalientes, Mexico, Sept. 8-14.


The current men's endurance leader on USA Cycling's National Track Calendar, Liam Donoghue (Boulder, Colo.) was an auto qualifier in the points race and scratch race. Two-time Olympian Bobby Lea (Mertztown, Pa./Custom Velo) earned an automatic nomination to contest the individual pursuit when he posted his indoor time of 4:21 earlier this year. Additionally, Lea will compete in the kilometer time trial in Mexico. Rounding out the men's endurance squad will be Jacob Duehring (Irvine, Calif./GS Ciao-Horizon Organic-Einstein Brothers Cycling) who qualified for the men's omnium as the highest ranked U.S. rider in the UCI's omnium rankings as of July 31. Lea and Duehring will also team up to compete in the Madison.


Leading the way in men's sprint competitions will be Matthew Baranoski (Perkasie, Pa./Custom Velo), Danny Robertson (Rolling Meadows, Ill./MSU-Hotter N Hell Hundred), and David Espinoza (Wellington, Fla.). The trio will combine forces to contest the team sprint. Baranoski will compete in both the keirin and sprint, and Robertson will contest the sprint. 


Jennifer Valente will contest the women's omnium in Aguascalientes.



In women's endurance events, current NTC endurance leader Kate Wilson (Los Angeles, Calif./CPT-CCF Racing Team) earned automatic nominations to compete in the scratch race and points race.  Thanks to her auto qualifying time of 3:46.507 which she posted outdoors earlier this year, Beth Newell (Oakland, Calif./JAKROO Racing Team) will represent the United States in the women's individual pursuit. In the women's omnium, Jennifer Valente (San Diego, Calif./TWENTY16 Pro Cycling) received the automatic nomination to compete by meeting three international omnium time standards.

Missy Erickson (San Pedro, Calif./Momentum Coaching Group p/b Atomic) and Alissa Maglaty (Redondo Beach, Calif./Momentum Coaching Group p/b Atomic) will be the female sprinters to watch in Mexico. They will both compete in the sprint and will then join forces for the team sprint. Erickson will go on to contest the keirin and will also toe the line for the 500-meter time trial.


Additionally, USA Cycling will field a women's team pursuit squad for the Pan American Championships. That squad will be named following a team selection camp in August.

2014 UCI Pan American Continental Track Championships
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Sept. 8-14, 2014
U.S. roster

Liam Donoghue (Boulder, Colo.)– points race, scratch race
Matthew Baranoski (Perkasie, Pa./Custom Velo)– match sprint, keirin, team sprint
Bobby Lea (Mertztown, Pa./Custom Velo) – kilometer time trial, individual pursuit, Madison
Jacob Duehring (Irvine, Calif./GS Ciao-Horizon Organic-Einstein Brothers Cycling)– Madison, omnium
Danny Robertson (Rolling Meadows, Ill./MSU-Hotter N Hell Hundred)– match sprint, team sprint
David Espinoza (Wellington, Fla.) – team sprint
Missy Erickson (San Pedro, Calif./Momentum Coaching Group p/b Atomic)– match sprint, 500-meter time trial, keirin, team sprint

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

4 + 1 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 500.39 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.41 MB.