Two Berkeley profs elected to American Philosophical Society

University of Berkeley's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

, UC Berkeley April 29, 2014


Two UC Berkeley professors have been elected members of the American Philosophical Society. They were elected at the scholarly society’s 2014 spring meeting in Philadelphia, where APS was founded in 1743.

They are:

  • Inez Fung, professor of atmospheric science and co-director of the Berkeley Institute of the Environment; and
  • Saul Perlmutter, the Franklin W. and Karen Weber Dabby Professor of Physics and senior staff scientistat Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

APS also elected a campus visiting scholar:

  • Jerome J. McGann, University of Virginia professor and senior research fellow at UC Berkeley.

The spring 2014 election brings UC Berkeley’s total in the prestigious scholarly society to 30.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

3 + 10 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 534.75 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.38 MB.