UBC experts for comment on 100th anniversary of First World War

UniversityofBritishColumbia's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Media Release July 31, 2014

wwi 770

July 28 marks 100 years since the beginning of the First World War. Photo: State Library of Southern Australia, Flickr

UBC experts are available to comment on the Great War’s impact from a variety of perspectives: political, historical and cultural.

HISTORY, POLITICS:

Richard Price

Professor, Dept. of Political Science

To reach by phone, please contact UBC Public Affairs: 604.822.6397

Email: richard.price@ubc.ca

  • History of chemical warfare
  • Use of mustard gas during the First World War
  • Both of his grandfathers served in the war. One was gassed at Ypres, the other received a medal of honour

Lisa Grekul
Associate Professor, Dept. of Critical Studies, Okanagan campus

Tel: 250.801.1900

Email: lisa.grekul@ubc.ca

  • Internment of Ukrainians in Canada during the war

Glen Coulthard

Dept. of Political Science

Tel: 604.822.2880

Email: glen.coulthard@ubc.ca

  • First Nations contributions to the war effort

Robert Brain

Assistant Professor, Dept. of History

Tel: 604.822.5409

Email: rbrain@mail.ubc.ca

  • Shell-shock during the Great War
  • Cultural history of the war

CULTURE, LITERATURE

Nancy Holmes

Associate Professor, Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies, Okanagan campus

Tel: 250.807.9369

Email: nancy.holmes@ubc.ca

  • Canadian literature of First World War
  • The war-time writings of Lucy Maud Montgomery
  • “In Flanders Fields” and the adoption of the poppy as a symbol of remembrance

Sherrill Grace

Professor, Dept. of English

To reach by phone, please contact UBC Public Affairs: 604.822.6397

Email: sherrill.grace@ubc.ca

  • Author of the forthcoming book Landscapes of War and Memory: The Two World Wars in Canadian Literature and the Arts, 1977–2007
  • Biographer of Thomas Findley, author of The Wars, set during the Great War
  • How Canadian artists have revisited the legacy of the war
News Source : UBC experts for comment on 100th anniversary of First World War
Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.