U.S. Third Fleet Announces Sea and Shore Sailors of the Year

Story Number: NNS140217-03Release Date: 2/17/2014 3:24:00 PM

By Mass Communication Specialist 3rd Class Corey T. Jones

San Diego (NNS) -- Commander, U.S. Third Fleet announced the selection of the 2013 Sea and Shore Sailors of the Year during a ceremony held at command headquarters in Point Loma, Feb 14.

Commander, Third Fleet Vice Adm. Kenny Floyd, recognized the Shore Sailor of the Year, Cryptologic Technician (Technical) 1st Class (IDW/SW) Jessica Villa from Commander, U.S. Third Fleet and the Sea Sailor of the Year, Information Systems Technician 1st Class (IDW) Tristen Hendricks from Commander, Strike Force Training Pacific.

"All Sailors of the Year are top performers, they wouldn't get to the position unless they were sustained, superior performers," said Third Fleet Command Master Chief Terrence Molidor. "All I can tell Sailors is to just work hard. Don't chase a title. Don't chase a position. If you work hard, you'll be rewarded."

Today's award marks the end of an intensive week during which SOY finalists were interviewed, graded and treated to the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and a USS Midway Museum guided tour.

"It's an awesome experience. I'm humbled. I competed against tough competition," said Villa.

"We had a lot of great candidates this week. I'm so happy!" said Hendricks. "The most important thing is to stick to the right. If you're in the right, you can't go wrong. Just take care of your junior Sailors."

The Sailor of the Year program was established in 1972 by Chief of Naval Operations, Adm. Elmo Zumwalt and Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy John Whittet to recognize an individual who best represented each command and ultimately the Navy.

"Hit the deck running. Find the things that you're good at, find the things that you love, find a good mentor. Those kinds of things are important," added Villa. "Work the person above you out of a job. Have fun with it, stay competitive and find a mentor."

Another shore nominee was Mineman 1st Class (SW) Christopher L. Ricks from Naval Mine and Anti-Submarine Warfare Command; the other sea nominees were Culinary Specialist 1st Class (SW/AW) Ryan S. Swan from Carrier Strike Group One; Personnel Specialist 1st Class (SW/AW/NAC) Dawn M. Hill from Carrier Strike Group Three; Legalman 1st Class (SW/AW) Krystal A. Baker from Carrier Strike Group Nine; Hospital Corpsman 1st Class (SW/AW) Timothy J. Soukup from Carrier Strike Group Eleven; Information Systems Technician 1st Class (SW/AW/IDW) Jennifer L. Roberts from Expeditionary Strike Group Three; Electronics Technician 1st Class (SW/EXW) Michael A. Wild from Tactical Training Group, Pacific.

U.S. Third Fleet leads naval forces in the Eastern Pacific from the West Coast of North America to the international date line and provides the realistic, relevant training necessary for an effective global Navy.

For more news from Commander, U.S. 3rd Fleet, visit www.navy.mil/local/c3f/.

News Source : U.S. Third Fleet Announces Sea and Shore Sailors of the Year