USFF Announces 2013 Fleet Sea, Shore Sailors of Year

Department of the Navy's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Story Number: NNS140327-29Release Date: 3/27/2014 11:58:00 PM

By Mass Communication Specialist 1st Class Phil Beaufort, U.S. Fleet Forces Public Affairs

NORFOLK (NNS) -- The Commander of U.S. Fleet Forces (USFF) announced the 2013 USFF Fleet Sea and Shore Sailors of the Year (SOY) during a ceremony hosted by the Hampton Roads Navy League at the Half Moon Cruise and Celebration Center downtown Norfolk, Va., March 27.

Adm. Bill Gortney announced Hospital Corpsman 1st Class Mahtob M. Johnson, USS Arleigh Burke (DDG 51) as the 2013 Sea Sailor of the Year and Cryptologic Technician (Collections) 1st Class Patricia H. Madigan, Navy Information Operations Command, Hawaii as the Shore Sailor of the Year.

Force Master Chief Chuck Clark said he was thrilled with this year's candidates.

"Any one of them could have been the selection. It was extremely hard selecting both the Sea and Shore Sailors of the Year this year, because there was a razor thin difference between the selects and the non-selects," said Clarke. "I go back to work with a renewed sense of faith that the Navy is in good hands because of the caliber of Sailors that we have.

Madigan thanked Gortney and expressed her surprise on her selection. "These shipmates standing behind me are an amazing group of people, and I am so blessed to meet them," said Madigan. "Thank you Adm. Gortney for everything you've done for us this week. It's truly remarkable. I think this will be a life-changing event."

"I am so honored and humbled and obviously taken aback by this," said Johnson, a native of Washington, D.C. "I'm only here because of my family, my husband, my daughter and all the Sailors I so proudly serve with. I would not be here if it were not for each and every one of them."

The USFF SOY program recognizes the best and brightest Sailors throughout the fleet.

Johnson will be meritoriously promoted to the rank of chief petty officer by the chief of naval operations this May. Madigan will go on to the next round of competition at the Chief of Naval Operations Shore SOY competition in May in Washington, D.C.

Finalists for Fleet Sea Sailor of the Year:

Cryptologic Technician (Technical) 1st Class Nickolas A. Pazar

CYBERFOR, Navy Information Operations Command, Whidbey Island

Navy Diver 1st Class Christopher L. Lansford

NECC, Explosive Ordnance Disposal Expeditionary Support Unit 2

Electronics Technician 1st Class Christopher K. Lindvold


Hospital Corpsman 1st Class Rosalinda Finnerty

USFF, Fleet Marine Force

Electrician's Mate 1st Class James R. Gagnon


Naval Air Crewman (Operator) 1st Class Raul Gomez

AIRLANT, Patrol and Reconnaissance Wing 11

Finalists for Fleet Shore Sailor of the Year:

Equipment Operator 1st Class Paul C. Trotman IV

NECC, Underwater Construction Team ONE

Aerographer's Mate 1st Class Stella G. Swartz

USFF, Fleet Weather Center, San Diego

Machinist's Mate 1st Class Joseph Stockton

SUBLANT, Trident Refit Facility, Kings Bay

Aviation Electrician's Mate 1st Class Richard K. Fenters

AIRLANT, Air Test and Evaluation Squadron 1

Personnel Specialist 1st Class Chukwulozia P. Okobi

SURFLANT, Naval Surface Force Atlantic

For more news from U.S. Fleet Forces, visit

News Source : USFF Announces 2013 Fleet Sea, Shore Sailors of Year

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

1 + 0 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 803.38 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.56 MB.