UTMB graduate school to award 33 degrees at commencement Friday

University of Texas Medical Branch's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at the University of Texas Medical Branch will award 33 degrees during its 46th commencement ceremony May 2 in Levin Hall. Vice President and GSBS Dean David W. Niesel will preside over the convocation. Dr. David L. Callender, UTMB president, will confer the degrees.

During the ceremony, the Graduate Student Organization will present its Distinguished Teaching Award to Sheryl Bishop, a professor in the School of Nursing, director of the School of Nursing Behavioral Laboratory and senior biostatistician for the Center for Nursing Research and Evaluation.

Clifford W. Houston, a professor in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology, associate vice president for Educational Outreach and Diversity and holder of The Herman Barnett Distinguished Endowed Professorship in Microbiology and Immunology, will receive the Distinguished Faculty Service Award.

The Distinguished Faculty Research Award will be presented to Scott C. Weaver, a professor in the Departments of Pathology and Microbiology and Immunology, director of the Institute for Human Infections and Immunity and scientific director of the Galveston National Laboratory.

William H. Griffith III, a professor and chairman of the Department of Neuroscience and Experimental Pathology, College of Medicine, at the Texas A&M System Health Science Center, will be honored with the GSBS Distinguished Alumnus Award for 2014. Griffith also will give the commencement address.

The commencement Mace Bearer is Dr. James C. Lee, a professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and Robert A. Welch Distinguished Chair in Chemistry.

In the 2013-2014 academic year, the graduate school has awarded a total of 58 degrees with 40 doctoral degrees, 16 master’s degrees and two M.D./Ph.D. degrees.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

5 + 13 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 871.17 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.56 MB.