Video: SOCAN members react to 2018 JUNO Award nominations

SOCAN's picture
Four-time 2018 JUNO Award nominee Jessie Reyez.

Jessie Reyez and Arcade Fire are each nominated for a leading four JUNO Awards in 2018. Reyez is nominated for Breakthrough Artist, R&B/Soul Recording (for Kiddo), and Video (for “Gatekeeper”) of the Year, as well as the JUNO Fan Choice Award. Arcade Fire have been honoured with nominations in the Single (for “Everything Now”), Album, Alternative Album (both for Everything Now), and Group of the Year categories.

Reyez and double-nominee Daniel Caesar (in the categories of Artist and R&B/Soul Recording of the Year, for Freudian) will perform live at the 2018 JUNO Awards Gala, on Sunday, March 25, broadcast live across all CBC music platforms, from the Rogers Arena in Vancouver. Also performing, in their hometown, will be triple nominee Hedley (Nominated for Group and Pop Album of the Year (for Cageless) as well as the Fan Choice Award.

The nominees for the SOCAN Songwriter of the Year Award are:

  • Rose Cousins
  • Scott Helman
  • Amelia Curran
  • Gord Downie & Kevin Drew
  • Charlotte Cardin

The nominations for Classical Composition of the Year are:

  • Andrew Staniland for Phi, Caelestis
  • James Rolfe for Breathe
  • Jocelyn Morlock for My Name is Amanda Todd
  • Vincent Ho for The Shaman
  • Alice Ping Yee Ho for Cœur à Cœur

Francophone Album of the Year nominees are:

  • Klȏ Pelgag for L’étoile thoracique
  • Pierre Lapointe for La science du cœur
  • Patrice Michaud for Almanach
  • Alex Nevsky for Nos Eldorados
  • Daniel Bélanger for Paloma

In addition to presenting the Songwriter of the Year Award, and for the third year in a row, SOCAN is the presenting sponsor of the JUNO Gala Dinner & Awards, at which most of the awards are handed out. As well, during the week of events leading up to the awards, SOCAN will once again serve as a co-presenting sponsor of the JUNO Songwriters’ Circle – widely known as “The Jewel of the JUNO Week” – with hosts Jann Arden and Bob Rock, performers TBD. Past participants include Alan Doyle, Paul Brandt, Alex Cuba, Ria Mae, Randy Bachman, Shad, July Talk, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Joel Plaskett, Johnny Reid, Ron Sexsmith and Dan Mangan.

For more information and a complete list of award nominees, visit the JUNO Awards website.

And stay tuned to for video interviews from the JUNO nominee press conference, held in Toronto on Feb. 6, 2018.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

5 + 1 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.