Winners of science fellowships announced

University of Cambridge's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Cambridge academic among winners of 2014 L’Oréal-UNESCO UK & Ireland For Women In Science Fellowships.

These four women exemplify perfectly what the For Women in Science Fellowships stand for.

Chair of the judging panel, Pratibha Gai

Senior Research Associate Dr Clémence Blouet is among the four winners of the 2014 L’Oréal-UNESCO UK & Ireland For Women In Science Fellowships (FWIS).

Dr Blouetis works at the MRC Metabolic Diseases Unit and University of Cambridge Metabolic Research Laboratories.

She was selected for her work on the consequences of high-fat intake on the hypothalamus and the mechanism behind obesity.

The FWIS UK & Ireland fellowships have been designed to provide flexible financial help to four outstanding female postdoctoral scientists to continue research in their chosen fields.

Chair of the judging panel, Pratibha Gai, Professor of Chemistry and Physics, Founding Professor of Electron Microscopy and co-director of the York Nanocentre at the University of York commented on the winners: “We had an absolutely outstanding shortlist this year, and these four women – Dr Clémence Blouet, Dr Tracy Briggs, Dr Eva-Maria Graefe and Dr Sneha Malde exemplify perfectly what the For Women in Science Fellowships stand for.

They are deeply talented, committed and hard-working scientists, who have huge passion for their research areas. I am excited to see what they all achieve in the coming year, and am confident that the influence and dedication of the female scientific community in the UK is well represented by these remarkable women.

The fellowships, worth £15,000 each, can be spent on whatever they may need to continue their research.

The four winners stated that they will be using their prize money for a range of support such as equipment, field trips, attendance at conferences, childcare and collaborations.

Winners were selected by a jury of scientists and included Royal Society Vice President Professor John Pethica and Professor Anne Glover, Chief Scientific Adviser to the President of the European Commission.

The awards are run in partnership with the UK National Commission for UNESCO, the Irish National Commission for UNESCO, with the support of the Royal Society.

The text in this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. If you use this content on your site please link back to this page. For image rights, please see the credits associated with each individual image.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

1 + 0 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.