The International Hospital Federation announces changes in board composition

IHF's picture

The International Hospital Federation (IHF) announces the changes in the board composition after the 41st World Hospital Congress held in Taipei

Geneva, Switzerland., December 6, 2017 - (PressReleasePoint) - The International Hospital Federation (IHF) announces the changes in the board composition after the 41st World Hospital Congress held in Taipei.

The World Hospital Congress is taken as an opportunity by the IHF to gather its board members around two governing council meetings and one General Assembly.

The World Hospital Congress was marked by the appointment of Dr Francisco Balestrin as the new president of the IHF during the General Assembly held on Wednesday, November 8th. He replaces, for a two-year mandate, Dr Erik Normann who has become the immediate past-president. The IHF named Dr Risto Miettunen as IHF President Designate, who should also become the president of the Federation during the 43rd World Hospital Congress that will take place in Oman in 2019.

Dr Balestrin is President of ANAHP – Brazilian National Association of Private Hospitals and Executive Vice President and Corporate Chief Medical Officer of the VITA’s Hospital Group. He graduated in Medicine and has finished medical residency in Health Administration in Hospital das Clínicas of the Medical School of the University of São Paulo (USP). Dr Balestrin holds a title of Specialist in Health Administration by the Brazilian Medical Association (AMB).

Dr Risto Miettunen is Chief Executive of Kuopio University Hospital District in Finland and representing the Association of Finnish Local Authorities.

Dr Muna Tahlak has been nominated as treasurer of the IHF. She is the current CEO of the Latifa Hospital, representing the Dubai Health Authority. She will chair the financial committee and take part in the executive committee.

Dr Kwang-Tae Kim, the former IHF immediate past president, has been elected life-long honorary member and he will continue to support the IHF awards.

The IHF also announces 5 new board members: Dr Adesola Pitan (Nigeria), Dr Qasem Al Salmi (Oman), Mr Cédric Arcos (France), Dr Jeong-Yong Hong (South Korea) and Dr Tony Pat-sing Ko (Hong Kong).

For more information about the International Hospital Federation and its governing council please visit

About IHF:

The International Hospital Federation (IHF) is an international not for profit, non-governmental membership organization. Its members are worldwide hospitals and healthcare organizations having a distinct relationship with the provision of healthcare. The foundation provides members with a platform for the exchange of knowledge and strategic experience as well as opportunities for international collaborations with different actors in the health sector.Established in 1929 after the first International Hospital Congress in Atlantic City, USA as the International Hospital Association, it was re-named after the Second World War in 1947. The IHF recognizes the essential role of hospitals and health care organizations in providing health care, supporting health services and offering education. Its role is to help international hospitals work towards improving the level of the services they deliver to the population with the primary goal of improving the health of society.

Press Contact:
Benoit Vieules
P.A. Hôpital de Loëx Route de Loëx 151 1233 BERNEX SWITZERLAND

+41 22 850 94 20
Contact Benoit Vieules

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.

Post new comment

3 + 5 =
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.